FLOSS Game Dev

Enabling Creativity

GodotEngine Vulkan Progress Report #1 Published

Leave a comment

Howdy, partners! 🙂

Juan Linietsky from the GodotEngine team just published an update regarding their efforts to update the engine’s underlying architecture so that it has proper Vulkan support. Of note is commentary on the sheer length of writing Vulkan initialization code as it applies to displays, as well as “halfway” progress made on the 2D portions of the engine.

The article, which discusses several aspects of working with Vulkan, indicates that most of the “Godot 3.x feature set” will be rewritten by October. Given that that’s only three months away, that’s a very promising sign!

I know I’m looking forward to trying out the new Vulkan renderer on my machine when it’s ready, so I will keep you all updated as things progress! 😀

Cheers! 🙂

Author: Michael J. Brodeur

I love computer and video games! I support my unending love for this craft with a devotion to both Free Software and Free Hardware Design. Cats rule! >^_^<

Leave a comment